The most common solution for criminal behavior prison, but many believe education is a better method. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Prisons are widely regarded as one of the most effective methods of dealing with crime in many countries. However, some argue that improving education would be a more effective solution. I agree that although prisons are necessary, education ensures a more efficient long-term approach to combating crime.

On the one hand, higher-quality education can address the root causes of crime, for instance, poverty. In majority of cases, lack of income and unemployment become a motivation of individuals to commit illegal activity in order to survive. Education, in contrast, ensures chances to find a job by providing essential skills and knowledge. Furthermore, education encourage moral values, helping people to distinguish right and wrong from a very young age. For example, countries that invest heavily on education and youth development programmes often experience lower crime rates. Thus education can be a preventive solution.

On the other hand, admittedly, prisons play an important role in protecting society by separating offenders from public. However, serving a prison sentence might not guarantee that individuals will not reoffend after release. This might exacerbate the motivation to commit illegal activity again. For instance, many former prisoners, particularly those who served a long sentence from a young age, struggle to socialise as well as find a job for living due to poor education and skill. Therefore, by improving education prisoners and qualifying their skills can break the cycle of reoffending.

To conclude, while prisons are necessary for maintaining public safety, they, per se, do not address root causes of crime. I believe that improving education is a better solution in a long-term, as it prevents criminal acts before it is commited and contributes to a safer society.