The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In today’s world, where technology is rapidly expanding, the internet has affected every aspect of our daily lives. Newspapers were not far from this expansion, as their presence has been rendered futile. I believe that this end-result is inevitable and has many reasons which will be further elaborated in the upcoming paragraphs.

First, on average every individual posseses a smart device that allows him to access a wide range of information from the internet. For instance, in the past, the common knowledge and ideas were limited to the ones presented in the papers. However, internet now is an open-source for everyone, where every piece of information is available to any user. This has allowed people to develop different perspectives and share multiple ideas.

Second, people are managing busy lives, with much tasks to finish in short periods of times. Indeed, the business market is growing and changing at an exponential rate, and decisions might change from one second to the other. Thus, the race to acquire knowledge on a certain topic is very competitive. For example, newspaper readers spent minutes and hours searching for an information, while now it can be discovered in fragments of a second.

Not only that, but credibility and honesty are major factors of such change. Newspapers used to support one party over the other by sharing wrong information, which throughout history created conflicts and wars. Now, with the presence of internet, checking the information’s source is much easier. Thus, readers can be sure that the content is trustworthy, and non-bias.

To conclude, over the past decades, several causes has played a role in minimizing the presence of newspapers, and favored internet-shared information. With that being said, I agree that, at a certain period of time, newspapers would become only a memory.