The natural resources such as oil, forests and freshwater are being consumed at an alarming rate. What problems does this cause? How can we solve these problems?

There is growing concern regarding the rate at which the world’s natural resources are depleting. This is causing harm to not only the environment but also to the smooth running of society. Thus, it is crucial that individuals adhere to mindful consumption of our resources, which could be further encouraged by governments.

The primary effect this has on the environment is ecosystem imbalance. This is owing to the fact that nature is unable to restore as fast as what humans consume. For instance, deforestation in certain countries has caused irreversible damages to previously lush green areas. In fact, the complexity of nature does not happen overnight and often requires decades to grow back to a healthy state. Another drawback is that with the pace resources are being utilised, humanity may soon run out of food and energy sources. People around the world are slowly facing these effects with drought and famine recorded in several parts of South East Asia.

One way to slow it down, is to start fostering more consenscious usage amongst humans. At an individual level, we should be mindful when using water and electricity. These practices should be instilled from a young age such as in schools and at home. For example, many early childhood centres in Australia implement the benefits of mindful consumption in their curriculum, through class posters, and daily activities. At societal level, countries should go through legislative reforms that limit our usage and sanctions people who are abusing it. Furthermore, the government can aid in reducing energy consumption by imposing higher taxes – discouraging high levels of usage.

In conclusion, the harms it is causing include environmental degradation which could lead to drastic changes in our ways of living. Hence, it is vital that we consume mother nature’s gifts responsibly through simple everyday adjustments.