The number of cars has increased significantly in major cities. What problems does this cause and what are some solutions to these problems?

These days automobiles have risen in number throughout megapolises. Consequently, it affects people’s physical activity in an adverse manner and causes air pollution. To tackle this issue, it is beneficial to prompt citizens to use public transportation and advertise healthy lifestyle. Additionally, an approach to city infrastructure planning could be changed.

Admittedly, using cars is very convenient, that is why people prefer to have personal means of transportation. Yet, there are a multitude of adverse consequences of this tendency. First of all, in developed countries scientists report growing rates of so-called ‘’diseases of civilization”, such as obesity and cardiovascular disorders. It has been proven that the abovementioned health issues closely correlate with sedentary lifestyle. In addition, exhaust fumes contribute to development of some chronic lung diseases. Besides that, growing number of cars causes heavy traffic.

To resolve these problematic situation a different approach to urban planning can be implemented into practice. To elaborate on, most European cities have restrictions concerning entrance of cars into a city centers to avoid traffic congestion. Thus, citizens are prone to apply “park and ride” strategy when they drive their own car from the outskirts to leave a vehicle at the parking place and get around on public transport through the city center area. Another efficient measure is car-sharing, which alleviates traffic on the roads during rush hours.

To conclude, some urban area planning peculiarities, especially in the North America could force people to run their own cars. As a result, unfavorable outcomes in terms of public health and traffic can be observed. To combat with, it is necessary to restructure urban areas creating more recreational areas instead of highways by the means of certain traffic restrictions and development of public transportation services.