The number of cars has increased significantly in major cities. What problems does this cause and what are some solutions to these problems?

Nowadays, the number of cars is rising all over the globe, particularly in urban cities. Several further problems can arise as a result of this and there are some efficient measures to overcome these challenges.

Increased number of cars can lead to several issues for both authorities and local people in a particular area, ranging from more polluted air to rising rate of traffic congestions. There is no doubt that people do damage to the environment by producing carbon emissions, most of which results from the usage of fossil fuel gases by cars. As car production rises, the challenges with air pollution are due to get worse. Another obstacle which is likely to occur is traffic jam. Despite governmental attempts to avoid this issue, traffic congestions are on the rise owing to rising quantity of cars on the roads.

However, there exist a number of solutions for the forthcoming problems mentioned above. First of all, encouraging local residents to walk or ride bikes is a practical approach to avoid pollution. As people begin to go for environmentally-friendly ways to get around in a city instead of using typical vehicles, the rate of polluted air decreases. In order to address the issues related with traffic congestion, re-establishment in the road infrastructure and public transport is required. The governmental officials should reduce the cost of fare for public transport and invest more money in establishing roads, which in turn reduces the amount of time taken to travel in the town. Consequently, car owners start using public transport such as buses or trains by leaving their cars at home in order to save their valuable time which could be spent in the traffic otherwise.

To conclude, the increasing number of cars can cause environmental and traffic problems. Nevertheless, these issues can be avoided by encouraging walking along with cycling and improving road infrastructure.