The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think, and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do agree or disagree this view?

There is a school of thought asserting that the older generations usually have conventional perspectives about people’s lifestyle, thought and behaviors. Many individuals are of the opinion that these ideas are not useful in helping young people prepare for modern life. Although I understand that the development of technolofy has led to significant changes in the contemporary era, I disagree with the viewpoint as the traditional opinions are also beneficial for younger generations.

On the one hand, in an era defined by technological advancements, young individuals are provided with access to a wide range of favorable conditions, such as digital gadgets, Internet and social media platforms, which can facilitate their career prospects and personal growth. However, this convenience is associated with certain challenges, as they have to constantly generate novel ideas and update their perspective, in order to keep up with the fast-paced society and maintain a competitive edge over others in the labour market. In such a circumstance, traditional views of the previous generations about life cannot be applied effectively to support youngsters in developing career opportunities . For example, in the technology industry, which is an extremely demanding sector, employees have to update the latest trends and produce innovative products to avoid being redundant. In this situation, the older generations tend to fall behind and their perspectives about life can be considered outdated, as the technology field prioritizes development and progress.

On the other hand, while the opinions of older people are inappropriate in some areas, their effectiveness in social aspects is significantly helpful for younger generations, which will equip them with essential social skills. Admittedly, elderly people often have more life experience and valuable perspectives about life, which are formed throughout their life. Those precious heritages are extremely beneficial for youngsters, as they offer useful knowledge of social aspects, such as the interpersonal connections, emotion control and family bonds which play a vital role in preparing them for adult life. This will not only facilitate inner maturity but also foster deeper perspectives for problems in their life, which helps them stay calm and composed when facing unexpected challenges. For example, these days, young individuals tend to face excessive pressure in the workplace, leading to depression and other mental health issues. In that situation, elderly in the family can provide them with emotional support by giving them traditional perspectives and advice, which can help them overcome problems at work more easily and reinforce their mental strength.

In conclusion, while elderly conventional notions can be outdated in certain fields, they are of great importance for social aspects of youngsters’ overall development, as they help youngsters enhance mental strength and prepare for adult life.