The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think, and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do agree or disagree this view?

Today’s society is built on traditions and customs. I completely disagree with this question. The rapid change in the world undoubtedly challenges some old norms, but the traditional views of older generations are essential for guiding the younger generations and preserving cultural identity.

On the one hand, the explosive development of technology and the dynamic transformation of the labor market may have made specific advice from older people obsolete. For example, the idealization of a lifelong job or concerns about digital communication are relevant for today’s youth. Young people who want to adapt to tomorrow often have to look for new ways and solutions, which sometimes contradict the experiences of their parents or grandparents. Nevertheless, the older generation can, with their general insights, put any given situation in a deeper context and possibly steer it in a different, better direction.

On the other hand, traditional ideas often convey fundamental human values and behavioral principles that transcend the zeitgeist. Advice about ethics, financial responsibility, perseverance, and respect for others are timeless. These ‘old’ ideas form the basis of character development and help young people navigate the complex social and emotional challenges of life, regardless of the goals they are striving to achieve or what technological environments they inhabit. Both the mistakes and successes of previous generations offer valuable lessons that can prevent similar mistakes from being made.

In summary, it is not that the views of older people are useless, but rather that young people need to critically filter them. While practical, technical advice may be outdated, the bedrock of fundamental, moral wisdom continues to provide a stable anchor in a rapidly changing world.