The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think, and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do agree or disagree this view?

In an era of unprecedented technological progression, one question has consistently circulated among social circles: should we modernise the codes of conduct belonging to bygone eras or should we uphold them? That older generations have held onto conformist social etiquette and lifestyles has led many people to argue that such anachronistic schools of thought would impede the growth of younger generations. In my opinion, while traditional social norms admittedly have their respective merits, the renewal of social etiquette is vital for societal development.

To commence with, there are two primary reasons as to why conventional behavioural norms would undermine the pace at which young adults navigate modern life. First and foremost, the misalignment between older generations’ timeworn traditions and modern practices could impair the preparedness of the youth for the real world. Given that social etiquettes are often based on contemporary values and beliefs; thus, the norms of the past would likely be incompatible with the modern trends of today. As a result, the continued preservation and advocacy for said norms would only distort the perspectives of younger generations on life, as emphasis is placed not on current, contemporary needs, but on obsolete beliefs. Secondly, the rigidity of past social structures may discourage innovation while reinforcing inequality. Maintaining a strong attachment to long-standing beliefs could foster a resistance to experimentation, making breakthroughs, and, simultaneously, promote discrimination and stereotyping of various social groups. Consequently, this could give birth to a generation of risk-averse individuals who continually uphold archaic practices, thus restraining flexibility, creativity, and inclusiveness.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned drawbacks that obsolete social etiquette could bring about, they are not without their respective benefits. To begin with, these social norms provide guidance and act as a foundation for improvement. We humans constantly strive for perfection in everything we do; as such, the flaw-laden ideas about how we should live provide a basis on which improvements can be made, thereby correcting and stimulating growth. Furthermore, though outmoded, these social norms are of significant cultural and historical value. Many older norms embody traditions and practices that hold great communal value; concurrently, they also reflect contemporary virtues and beliefs, which can provide insights into the past, enriching people on an intergenerational level. That said, these potential benefits are of insignificant value when put in comparision with the advantages that abolishing them could bring about. Thus, regardless of the said merits, I maintain that the retainment of outdated sets of social etiquette would only slow the youth down in their preparation for the adult world.

To encapsulate, the perspectives of older generations on behavioural norms can have some merits, such as having substantial cultural value and providing the groundwork for further societal progression. However, such benefits do not overshadow the negative implications such norms bring about, including the stagnation of innovation and disorienting the focus of younger generations in life. I firmly believe efforts should be made to retain the positive aspects of past social etiquette while reinforcing the renewal of current norms to facilitate the development of society.