The only reason people work hard is to earn more money. There are no other reasons to do it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

One school of thought posits that the only reason why people dedicate their lives to work is to earn money. This essay attempts to shed light on the two reasons why I partly agree with this viewpoint.

To commence with, many individuals regard money as the main factor behind their hard work. Every person needs money to meet their basic necessities such as buying food, and paying rent or utility bills. Due to the intense competition in current job markets, many work harder than ever before in order to make ends meet and support their family. Furthermore, many individuals derive great pleasure from material wealth. Having a decent income can translate into a prosperous life with the luxurious homes and high-end cars that many people dream about. This partly explains why many decide to work overtime or have two jobs at the same time to maximize their income.

However, there are a variety of reasons why I also believe that factors including passion and a desire to contribute to society also motivate hard work. Regarding the former, passion plays an essential role in encouraging people to go to work. This is mainly because, without passion, people do not have any motivation to complete the tasks which are given by their employers, leading to a loss of productivity in the working environment. As for the desire, firefighters are a case in point. The fact that many firefighters are willing to risk their lives to rescue others clearly shows that money is not their main motivation and that an altruistic wish to help others far exceeds other causes.

In conclusion, money is of course a driving force behind hard work; however, passion and desire to help others are also crucial reasons why many individuals work hard. I believe people are likely to achieve a greater sense of satisfaction when they consider other factors besides simply salary.