The only way to solve the increasing crime rate of young offenders is to teach parents better parenting skills. To what extent do you agree?

Crime rates all over the world are on the rise. Some may be forced while others are done are on purpose. Not only adults but juvenile cases are also soaring, questing the integrity of parenting. Many opine that educating parents with enhanced parenting skills is the only way to solve this issue. But parents are not entirely to be blamed because young offenders might pick up unethical habits from various sources.

The crimes youngsters instigate are the result of aggressive behaviour developed due many factors such as violence seen on TV, unhealthy social circles, encouragement from others, fights and bullying. In general, youth is misguided and brainwashed, especially teenagers who are gullible and mislead. Parents and their parenting techniques are seen as the main culprit while in reality they are totally oblivious of the wrongdoings of their child. It is undeniable that parenting plays a huge role in the upbringing of children,but it is not certain they will pick them as their role models. In addition, youth today is easily influenced by social media, TV, classmates, indulging in activities such as drinking alcohol or smoking. A lot of what they do is not taught by parents but is rather synonymous to the actions of their peers. The type of friend circle they engage with plays a pivotal role on a young person activities and mindset as they spend more time at school or at after school engagements than at home.

Furthermore, along with proper parenting strategies, neighbourhood, school environment, teachers, friends and community equally affects a persons actions. Community engagement is important in order to develop bonds, support and install core values . A youngster closely knit with the society is less likely to commit a crime as he or she will become apprehensive of his wrong deeds. School counselling is crucial in order to identify the problems a young person must be facing as communication and healthy conversations helps to open up and ease out entirety and aggressive behaviour. Emphasis should also be put on identifying any mental health concerns such as depression or multiple personality disorder which can rule out the possibility developing an illegal attitudes and committing a violent crime.

In conclusion, youth crimes are escalating day by day. Parenting techniques need to change with modern times but should not be entirely blamed as there are various factors at play which result in unethical practices in youth, such as internet, social circles, TV, school atmosphere, neighbourhood environment, bullying and mental illnesses. Instilling responsible values , community engagement and counselling aids communication easing up aggressive behaviour seen in young offenders. Moreover, a person orphaned at a young age is seen to become a righteous civil citizen, implying parenting methods are not the sole culprit for young criminal acts.