“The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend and offer a solution.”

The proportion of overweight children is approximately 20 percent higher than a decade ago in western countries. This essay will examine two factors that are driving this problem and suggest two ways to improve the situation.

The aforementioned issue is caused by two main reasons. The first reason is that children consume too much junk food. Merchants manufacture numerous kinds of food that are unhealthy but attractive,such as fried chips and hamburgers, to attract youngsters, resulting in the vast majority of minors solely eating unwholesome edibles and often disregarding nutritious meals. Consequently, boys and girls are getting fatter and fatter. The second reason is that children lack exercise during their daily lives. It is a common sight to see a large proportion of youngsters addicted to digital devices. They spend considerable time playing video games when staying at home, which makes them reluctant to do outdoor activities and thus gain weight. To illustrate, in the US, according to a report from BBC, youngsters devote over half their after-school time to digital gadgets rather than engaging in physical activities, leading to the great majority of them suffering from obesity.

There are, however, some options to alleviate the problems caused by these factors. One solution is for authorities to regulate the ingredients when it comes to producing food. The relevant department should strictly limit the producers and ask them to create healthier food items. For instance, in China, the government urges food firms to produce healthier food goods for children, such as food with low salt, low fat, and no sugar. Those companies might be punished if they do not follow the policy. Another solution is that schools ought to integrate more exercise into children’s lives. Encouraging regular physical activities for children during school, including jogging, doing yoga, and playing basketball, can boost their metabolism and strengthen their body, thus helping them to lose weight.

In conclusion, the primary causes of overweight children are over consumption of unhealthy provisions and insufficient physical exercise, and by promoting healthier diet and introducing more activities to minors at school, the situation can be improved.