The planet's population is reaching unsustainable levels, and people are facing a shortage of resources like water, food, and fuel. To what consequences may overpopulation lead? In your opinion, what measures can be taken to fight overpopulation?

Nowadays, overpopulation is a concerning issue, and the lack of natural resources for the people is evidence of this. It puts a serious strain on the environment and will not be avoided until effective measures are taken.

To begin with, an increase in the population will lead to the depletion of natural resources. This is because, with a large population, we have to feed more number of people, which results in the over-exploitation of natural resources. Moreover, malnutrition and high density of the population may lead to incurable diseases, even deaths. A recent study conducted by Harvard University concludes that each year 60% or more people die because of epidemics like diarrhea and mosquito-transmitted diseases in 40% of the populated countries. If population growth is controlled, better health care can be ensured.

For these reasons, the creation of general awareness and effective contraceptive measures can contribute to combating this issue. Firstly, citizens should be made aware of the disadvantages of having more children. Also, women should be educated on effective birth control to reduce unwanted pregnancies. In Bangladesh, for instance, the birth rate was reduced from 1.45 to 1.06 with the introduction of effective family planning, as published in the national dailies. In other words, sensitization and awareness creation can curb the birth rate, ultimately solving the problem in many nations.

To sum up, overpopulation can drag humans into severe consequences. However, preventive measures can be taken to solve this and make Earth a much safer place to live.