The planet's population is reaching unsustainable levels, and people are facing a shortage of resources like water, food, and fuel. To what consequences may overpopulation lead? In your opinion, what measures can be taken to fight overpopulation?

Today, human population has become enormous, there are approximately 8 billion people alive on the planet Earth and many of them are lacking simple commodities, such as food, water, and fuel. The overpopulation has led to numerous negative effects for both the human race and our planet, including pollution and environmental destruction. Despite this is indeed one of the most serious problems the humanity is facing right now, I believe that spreading awareness about overpopulation and reducing consumption could massively help solve this issue.

Pollution, being the major problem that is now, worsens drastically due to overpopulation. For instance, the more people there are, the more goods go to waste, because of the consumerism. Furthermore, crucial environmental damage is another consequence of overpopulation, with nature being destroyed because of the lack of space for residential areas. For example, in Moscow, numerous housing developments were put up in rural areas, which previously served as homes to local wildlife. If the population didn’t grow this fast, there would have been no need for extensive housing construction.

While overpopulation is a well-known problem in the modern world, if more people become aware of the negative effects that it has, it would be easier to fight this issue. For instance, many countries in Africa are overpopulated mainly because of unprotected sexual intercourses and subsequent pregnancy. If the information about contraceptives will be provided to people in African countries, it would help in solving the issue. Consumer culture is a significant part of the world we live in, however, if people start buying and using goods more responsibly, less products will go to waste and it will be easier to tackle pollution.

To conclude, nowadays, overpopulation is a serious problem and it causes pollution and environmental destruction in general, however, in my opinion, it is vital to combat this major issue with raising awareness of it and consuming less goods.