The population of some cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What solutions can you propose to maintain a good quality of life in urban areas?

It is true that there is a rapid population growth in certain urban areas. This phenomenon has brought about several negative impacts on the lives of people, which necessitate practical measures to be adopted.

The ever-increasing population can cause issues related to housing and public services. Regarding the former, when the number of urban dwellers is on the rise, the demand for housing tends to increase correspondingly. This can lead to various housing problems for urban residents, namely affordable prices and housing shortage, which can be exemplified by New York, Shanghai or similar metropolitan cities. The other impact is that a growing population can place considerable pressure on public facilities, which can be clearly observed in the field of healthcare and education. Since more people are in demand of using such services, these systems may face challenges in terms of funding, inadequate facilities and human resources, potentially leading to a decline in the quality of their services.

In order to tackle such issues, the authorities can implement a range of policies. Perhaps one of these is for them to take some measures to alleviate the population burden on large cities. For example, they can make plans for establishing satellite towns that can help accommodate dwellers from nearby large cities. These newly-established towns, as a result, can address certain existing problems in densely-populated areas and thus contribute to an increase in standards of living. Another approach worth mentioning is that the governments should allocate more financial resources to improve public services ensuring educational and healthcare needs of those living in populated cities. Such investments can be useful to construct modern facilities and attract more workers, thereby alleviating the shortage faced in essential sectors and improving the overall quality of life.

In conclusion, the fact that some cities are witnessing an unprecedented growth in their population has brought about housing issues and challenges in some public sectors. Despite these detrimental impacts, policymakers can adopt new legislation to make urban areas worth living.