The population of some cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What solutions can you propose to maintain a good quality of life in urban areas?

It is not surprising that the issue of increasing population in some metropolis has attracted many heated debates because of its impact on the city dwellers. In this essay, I will discuss the major problems relating to this topic, and try to suggest some possible solutions to overcome this disturbing problem.

There are several detriments associated with overpopulation such as an increase in the cost of living, overcrowding, and environmental pollution. First of all, as more individuals move to the city, the demand for housing and services grows, leading to a rise in prices, for example, in metropolitan areas like Ha Noi and HCM city, the cost of a house or an apartment has peaked in recent years, at least 2 billion for an apartment even in the suburbs. Due to the growth in population, overcrowding becomes a serious problem, and more people flock to the city, less available places to live, work, and transportation, this leads to the strain on traffic, and medical and reduces the quality of life. Moreover, rapid population growth causes harm to the environment, as mentioned, demand for housing grows, more green spaces are used to build residential areas, more strains on traffic, more emissions to the environment, thus causing air pollution.

However, increasing population rapidly also bring some benefits. At first, as an result of more people moving to city, the demand of goods, productions and services will be increased, thus more job oppoturnities will be provided and the economic grows quickly. As the demand increases, cities will attract more investment, leading to the improvements in life conditions, schools, hospitals and other services.

To solve these problems, government should have a plan for creating well-organised urban areas. The city should invest in public transport, developing an efficient and eco-traffic system that will reduce traffic jams and pollution to the environment. The government should also implement policies to reduce housing prices and build more apartments instead of detached houses for more space. People should be encouraged to move to smaller towns by offering assistance to the migrants or creating job opportunities in rural areas, this will reduce pressure on large cities.

In conclusion, although rapid growth in population brings serious challenges to big cities, the government can enforce some policies such as investing in public transport, reducing housing prices, and encouraging emigration. I believe that by adopting these measures, urban areas can provide a sustainable high quality of life to their residents.