"The presence of a competitor is always beneficial to a company. Competition forces a company to change itself in ways that improve its practices." To what extent do you agree with the view?

The presence of a rival often bring benefit to a company. Competition can motivate a company to change the business strategies for improving itself. In fact, the presence of a rival, along with competition, helps a company to become more efficient and improve overall performance.

Competitors can be a significant factor for a company. They can fuel a company to boost their performance so that it can cope with the market. As a result, a company can feel the importance of improvement while competing with others. For instance, a company can focus on their quality or the price to draw attention of the customers. If its rivals are offering the better quality at a higher price, the company can offer good quality at a reasonable price. As a consequence, it will be able to attract a different type of consumer from the market. So, the presence of a competitor is often beneficial to a company.

At the same time, strategies are more important for a company to sustain its business. Actually, business’s fate lies on the strategies. Additionally, strategies should not be same for all situations. Moreover, the businesses, who can align their strategies with the market demand, enjoy better result. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, there was a demand for online service among the consumers. So, the companies who could support the customer according to their need; from online order to home delivery; earned more profit along with increasing brand value. On the other hand, which company could not do the same, they failed. Therefore, strategies play a vital role for a company’s overall performance.

To sum up, it is clear that the competitors are generally significant as well as they can play a role to change a business by improving its strategies.