the prison is the most effective way to punish criminals

These days, many people believe that prison is the most effective punishment for criminals. But at some point, I disagree with this idea and in this essay I will explain my personal viewpoint.

One reason why I disagree with jail as a punishment for criminals is that there are a lot of prisoners, who do not pose a serious threat to society,like those who commit small thefts. But when they are locked up in the same cell with more violent criminals, for instance, rapists and killers, petty criminals may start to learn how to commit seriously and dangerous crimes. As a result, people who commit small crimes will become more dangerous to society.

The second reason for my disagreement is that nowadays, prisons are becoming more and more comfortable and convenient for criminals. What I mean by this is that today many prisoners have access to watch television, do sport activities, or even acces to small entertainments. It seems more like leisure time rather than a punishment. I Strongly believe that the government should think of a tougher punishments rather than this.

However, at some point, prison probably might be an effective way to change criminals. Many prisoners can start to reflect on their actions while they are in jail. As a result, this may lead them to behave better in the future.

To sum up, even if many people believe that prison is the best punishment for criminals, I think this is too weak and there should be tougher ways to punish criminals.