The prompt is Some people think that children should have the freedom to make mistakes, while others believe that adults should prevent them from making mistakes. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

While one school of thought holds that children have the right to make mistakes, others are of the opinion that hindering children from making errors is preferable. This essay will first closely examine both viewpoints before concluding that I agree with the former.

Granted, one might argue that avoiding children from making mistakes is better. This is predicted on the assumption that this makes children become successful easily in a short term. However, this line of reasoning is not sound because it fails to maintain this success in the long term. In fact, making errors freely allows children to proactively explore themselves in several fields, spend more time correcting such problems, thereby they probably extract valuable insights from their own errors, which would help them to be aware of difficulties in their daily life.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned arguments, I am convinced that having freedom to make mistakes is suitable. One reason is that this could help children become more and more independent in the future. By possessing the entitlement to err, children could learn from their own mistakes, persevere to tackle the issues and thrive in the face of adversity. In particular, children who are not afraid to make mistakes or experiences will have the potential to decide for themselves as well as take their own responsibility for these errors. This probably has the ability to enhance self-development and self-reliance on the child’s later life. Another reason is that making mistakes without limits could develop the capability of adaptability. As a matter of fact, when encountering any inaccuracies, children have to learn some ways to adjust and change in order to adapt to a number of challenges in the rest of life, which would help them to become more flexible.

In conclusion, while there are justifications for advocating adults should help children avoid mistakes, I would contend that having the right to make errors freely is more necessary.