The prompt is Some people think that children should have the freedom to make mistakes, while others believe that adults should prevent them from making mistakes. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

People have different views about children making mistakes. While a school of thought contends that it is normal for children to make mistakes, others believe that children should be protected from making mistakes. This essay will examine arguments for both sides before concluding with my stance on the matter.

On the one hand, there are valid reasons why people suppose that it is normal for children to make mistakes. Making mistakes is inevitable for human development, especially for children who have little experience in life. Therefore, giving children the freedom to make mistakes allows them to understand and learn more about the world. Additionally, making mistakes is also a chance for children to develop; it helps children realize their weaknesses and makes children think about what caused the mistakes, so that children will adjust their behavior to avoid making the same mistakes in the future.

On the other hand, it is understandable why many people think that children should be protected from making mistakes. Protecting children is a human instinct, especially for parents who have a natural instinct to protect their children from harm; this leads them to prevent their children from making mistakes as a way to keep their children from negative consequences to their mental or physical health. Additionally, people fear that making mistakes will affect children’s mental confidence and their development in the future.

In conclusion, I acknowledge both perspectives and the impact of adults and making mistakes on children’s development. I believe that children should be free to make mistakes as long as they are not illegal and their parents are accompanying them in their personal development to emotionally support them when they make mistakes.