The range of technology available to people is increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Others think it has the opposite effect. Discuss both views and give your opinions.

In the recent years, there has been a number of discussions about technologies effect on increasing the gap between rich and the poor. Many believe that technologies effect is beneficial and many believe in the exact opposite scenario. I will state my personal opinion at the end of this writing.

Firstly, many believe that the available technologies are able to increase the gap between rich and the poor. They believe that vast majority of modern technologies are priced in an unbelievable way which restricts ordinary people from owning them. To illustrate, a high-tech cellphone costs nearly 1000 dollars in the United States which is a very shocking number for a cellphone. Moreover, most of the useful applications available on phones require a monthly subscription. Therefore, people who are on a low pay job can not keep up with the prices and are forced to cancel their subscriptions, increasing the gap more than ever before.

However, many individuals demand that using high-tech technologies can have the exact opposite effect on people’s lives. They think that using social media is an effective way for rich people to get in contact with those in need. As a result, these wealthy people can donate a small amount of money either directly or by help of a charity. I wholeheartedly believe that using modern technologies can help decreasing the social and economic gap between wealthy and the poor.