The rapid growth of urban migration has led to a shortage of affordable housing. What problems do this cause and what solution can be done to solve this problem

A limited range of affordable housing due to the rapid development of urban areas is an up-rising problem recently. even though it has caused homelessness and prolonged travelling hours from work to home for many individuals, it can be tackled by the government’s project of constructing new accomodation for people with lower salary.

One major problem caused by this phenomenon is the increasing number of the homeless. When houses are almost limeted in cities since more and more people move to live there because of better infrastructure and high-qualified education, the house’s prices will significantly rise into unimaginary cost, which make people with lower income unable to buy their own house resulting in homelessness. Therefore, it will lead to more social burden which diminishs the growth of specific communities.

Another issue caused by the mentioned problem is the increase in air pollution. That is to say, when people cannot afford a house in city, they tend to find another in the outskirt of that areas. From there, it takes them longer hours to travel from work to home, which makes them use their private vehicles more often. Thus, the toxic fumes emitted from transports manufactored by fossil fuels will be increasingly pumped into the atmosphere in the city, worsening the air quality here. As a result, the living environment in the cities is no longer safe recently.

To takcle this problem, governments should plan to build such areas for accomodation of lower income workers. In other words, the low-income housing, such as apartments,…, need to be constructed near the city center, which is close to a number of factories, making employees easily travel to work. Government can also bring in new roads which are only availble for buses or public transports from the city center to the outskirt of the city, which allows people living in the rural to commute to work without emitting so much toxic fumes from their private vehicles.

In conclusion, although a shortage of affordable housing causes an increasing number of the homelessness and pollutes the air in the cities, it can be solved by the low-income accomodation.