The research indicates that nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative change? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge

Studies have found that the influence of advertisements has declined notably, failing to persuade many consumers to make purchases. This stems from the saturation of advertisements across multiple platforms and the negative impression of low-quality products. I believe this is a largely positive development, as buyers are more conscious of their shopping decisions, improving their management of expenses.

There are two main reasons for the decline of advertisements’ effectiveness. Firstly, their frequent appearances in both real life and digital platforms have gradually reduced their ability to grab the attention of the public. For instance, it is common for Internet users to simply scroll past sponsored post on Facebook and Instagram, or skip the ads woven in Youtube videos. This means the content that is promoted rarely successfully makes an impression on the viewers. Also, exaggerated claims of certain products, especially those related to medicines and supplementary substances, have received bad press in recent years. Because of this, more customers are becoming wary of the information shown by promotional campaigns, feeling that it may not be entirely trustworthy.

Turning to the impact of this change, I believe it is chiefly positive. This is because as people are now able to make their own shopping decisions, evaluating the actual function of the product before making purchases. This allows them to manage their expenses more effectively, while also reducing the likelihood of using low-quality products that are portrayed untruthfully in ads. Some would argue that this development would do more harm than good for businesses, whose expensive marketing efforts would be all for naught. However, this shift in consumers’ attitudes creates an opportunity for authentic quality goods to thrive, encouraging companies to improve their products rather than focus on a superficial facade. This would contribute positively to a transparent marketplace, where sellers provide buyers with products worth the money.

In conclusion, the declining influence of advertisements is a result of viewers being overstimulated, as well as the exaggeration of low-quality products. For promoting better-informed shopping habits and transparency in the marketplace, I believe this is a net positive