The responsibility to prevent global environmental damage is on politicians rather than individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that while individuals must play an essential part in protecting the environment, politicians have more power to alleviate and tackle environmental problems. I completely believe that this problem should be addressed by both, with the government taking the lead.

The main reason why I believe that individuals have a crucial role in protecting the ecosystem is because they can reduce numerous harmful activities. To be more specific, citizens can form a moral responsibility towards the environment by practicing more habits to protect their surroundings. And this includes using our cars less and public transportation more. It also means buying biodegradable products, such as organic food, and supporting sustainable businesses. By doing so, we can drive companies to adopt greener practices. Additionally, humans should raise awareness about this issue by influencing others to participate in environmental friendly campaigns. A good illustration of this is that there are various volunteer contributions to cleaning up litter and garbage on the street and the river every month. As a result, humans will gain responsibility and effort towards the importance of preserving ecosystems by saving energy, avoiding harmful chemicals and stopping littering.

Another reason is that authority has more power to alleviate environmental problems better than individuals. In other words, politicians can take action on global warming by having a huge influence on international agreements. The government has the capacity to pass laws to reduce environmental problems such as cutting down on emissions and reducing dependence on fossil fuels. Furthermore, consideration of prioritizing expenditure on technological breakthroughs such as waste treatment can foster a greater understanding of conservation. Therefore, industry and agriculture can adapt to this invention in order to decrease the discharge of chemical wastes into rivers and seas.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both individuals and politicians have a responsibility to protect the environment and achieve sustainable development.