The responsibility to prevent global environmental damage is on politicians rather than individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Of those issues concerning global societies, who is responsible for worldwide environmental concerns is one of the most prominent. The public perception is that environment-related problems should be addressed by the governments rather than ordinary people. I agree with a balanced approach combining the cooperative actions of authorities and the public which can be the best way to tackle these difficulties.

Firstly, governments should invest in environment-friendly practices and incentivize factories, businesses, and industries to prioritize sustainable methods. This suggested that manufacturers can significantly reduce their environmental damage provided that the state supports them financially, as employing energy-efficient infrastructure is too costly. Furthermore, governments should allocate a budget to public transportation to reduce carbon footprint. Well-developed public transportation modes encourage citizens to use them instead of private cars, do they not only decrease air pollution, but they also alleviate traffic congestion in city centers.

Secondly, the public plays a crucial role in mitigating environmental issues by prioritizing more environment-friendly activities. In fact, by using public transportation modes or cycling instead of private cars, city dwellers can reduce carbon dioxide emissions, leading to an increase in the quality of the air. For instance, environmentalists launched a cycling program in Finland encouraging people to use free bicycles to strengthen their physical health and enhance air quality. Moreover, to protect biodiversity and natural resources, people should change their dietary habits that might harm the environment.

In conclusion, a cooperative approach between the government and the public is the best way to tackle global environmental challenges, including investing in sustainable infrastructures by the government, changing food preferences, and using more environmentally friendly transportation by people.