The search showed that increasing number of people are now living in megacities, cities of more than 20 million inhabitants. Is it positive or a negative development?

Studies show that megapolises are becoming dominant choice of residence in today’s world, with over 20 million people living therein. Nor is it harmony with the way human beings’ nature, but also it leads to centralization forming urban jungles. This essay will analyze why it is a negative trend, hardly can we call it a “development”.

To start with the fact that humanity has evolved in a harmonious way with its biological surrounding, which indicates our need for green space and these mega-cities we are not designed in a way which supports our own basic needs for sunlight, trees, fresh air and most importantly space. Infrastructure reaching clouds, electricity and the Internet connection cables all over, businesses trying to keep up with the demand of these giant cities lead to traffic jams, pollution and stress worsening mental health of inhabitants. To cite a basic example, spread of any disease, such as viruses in such densely-populated area would be fatal.

Moreover, these cities would attract many; businessmen eyeing a profit, people fearing to miss out or immigrant in search of better life standards creating a demand for housing. To satisfy the need we will build concrete jungles, mostly on places where forests existed which materials thereof made it easy for construction.

Not only do we damage the biosphere, but also rural areas would be abandoned and overlooked as there would not be many who would want to stay there. For instance, so high was the urban transition in Uzbekistan that there were more people in the capital per meter than in any region.

To conclude, few benefits this idea offers cannot justify the downsides which come with it. The whole idea of mega-cities is negative and we should battle this dystopian reality soon before it is late