The spread of urban areas has led to deforestation and has caused many animal species to become endangered. Environmental groups are urging governments to protect these animals. What are the benefits of protecting animals? What can governments do to protect animals?

Urbanization is a trend that we are more often seeing in the modern world as population numbers grow. Following projects with the expansion of city areas in mind is however a path of destruction, affecting forest vegetation and wildlife. Coming to notice of these consequences, climate activists have begun movements, asking the authorities to make efforts to keep the animals out of harm’s way. This essay will explore some reasons justifying these movements, as well as suggest measures, that governments can take.

The variety of wild species, also known as biodiversity, has proved to play a central role in preserving the stability of ecosystems by keeping food chains in check and making sure no biological systems get disrupted as a consequence of the absence of one specific species. For instance, the presence of a single small prey species, such as a subspecies of rabbit may not seem that important to us observers on the outside, but if a predator species, for example a wolf, is not able to catch enough prey to quench it’s hunger, it might find itself in a town, looking for alternatives. Such occurrences are not rare, when ecological imbalances are caused by human hands and can pose great dangers to residents.

In order to stop something like this from happening, while also reaching the societal demand for urban expansion, nations will have to take up some measurements, that may be limiting to their construction potential, but are quite necessary. An obvious way to go about limiting environmental damage, in turn reducing the freedom, when it comes to deforestation regulations. Introducing new laws as well as tightening up their enforcement can alleviate the threats to the wildlife, while only acting as an insignificant brake for the urbanization projects. Moreover, identifying endangered species, that may be, more sensitive to nearby human activity, and funding special care projects regarding them might reduce the chances of their livelihood being at risk.

In conclusion, preserving biodiversity is very important as to prevent dangerous animals to enter urban areas and the government can contribute to this, by making new rules, limiting the destructive footprint of urbanization.