The teaching of Information Technology is a standard part of the school curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools, where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that students in primary or secondary schools should be learned Information Technology skills more than basic skills. I completely agree with this idea.

The argument in favour of technology development, IT provides access to vast amounts of information online, which means that students are able to find knowledges to learn, research, and stay informed about a wide range of topics through learning IT skills in schools. For instance, in case of primary schools in Korea, teachers are teaching how to use computer because all students are handling with tablet computers instead of textbooks. Hence, giving the information of how to use computer in the class, it is important skills as students.

One the contrary, it is believed that concentrating IT skills than basic skills have negative side as well. In terms of basic skills, it is included literacy, numeracy, and critical thinking. Firstly, basic skills encourage critical thinking and problem-solving abilities. For example, literacy skills enable to students to analyses information, evaluate arguments. Secondly, it is necessary for tasks such as reading instructions. However, I believe this is to be a very shortsighted view. Since the rise of technology development, learning IT skills are necessary, and now this skill is one of the basic skills to children.

To sum up, I agree to some extent that focusing on teaching skills of Information Technology to students in schools than basic skills are important. Although having some drawbacks, IT skills are more likely to have positive effect for students. Therefore, it is convincing that teaching IT skills to students is one of the basic skills nowadays.