The teaching of Information Technology is a standard part of the school curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools, where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

IT has become a crucial component of education in the past few decades, and students are expected to learn how to utilize it effectively from elementary school through secondary school. Some, however, believe that teaching IT to children at such young ages has the disadvantage of replacing critical thinking, literacy, and numeracy as fundamental core competencies. IT, in my opinion, is crucial to today’s schools, but a balance must be established so that children acquire both digital and fundamental abilities.

It teaches children at an early age to be prepared for a technology-enriched world. Early exposure with computers, digital tools, and other machines gives children a head start in developing skills that are essential in future careers: being able to code, manipulate data, and research on the internet. For example, those students who feel comfortable working with modern technologies will surely show better performance in those school subjects which will gradually employ the usage of digital materials. IT skills also develop creativity and problem-solving due to the fact that children learn to make their way around and work with software in order to create something digital.

IT has become a crucial component of education in the past few decades, and students are expected to learn how to apply it effectively from elementary school through secondary school. Some, however, believe that teaching IT to children at such young ages has the disadvantage of replacing critical thinking, literacy, and numeracy as fundamental core competencies. IT, in my opinion, is crucial to today’s schools, but a balance must be established so that children acquire both digital and fundamental abilities.

For instance, a child may be learning typing or how to use some software but is having difficulty with more basic math or language skills that become a problem as they go further into academia. Besides, reliance on IT can easily degenerate to passive learning whereby students may be tempted to have over-reliance on the internet without making personal analyses or understanding of information. This is indeed a very dangerous trend, as such graduates may end up being adept in how to use technology but without critical thinking capabilities to handle reality situations that are usually complex. For example, students who rely heavily on calculators or search engines will lack problem-solving skills. In other words, IT skills taught at an early age will be helpful in preparing students for life, but there needs to be a balance in the process. Schools need to integrate IT into the curriculum without ditching the essential basics so that the children come out all-rounded to face the challenges that are both in technology and non-technological. With this sort of balanced curriculum comprising IT, literacy, numeracy, and critical thinking, it would qualify learners for modern society.