The teaching of Information Technology is a standard part of the school curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools, where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I completely disagree with the thought that learning IT in primary schools comes at the cost of basic skills. IT literacy is imperative to the future of students and in addition it complements and enhances the learning of fundamental skills rather than taking away from basic skills.

Firstly, IT literacy has become essential in our daily lives. Introducing primary school students to basic computer skills at a very young age allows us to prepare them for future academic and workplace environments, where mastery and proficiency with technology is a fundamental requirement. Early exposure to IT doesn’t mean abandoning basic skills such as reading, writing, and math. On the contrary, it provides new tools and platforms to engage with these subjects. For example, educational software such as google classrooms and interactive apps such as quizizz can make learning basic skills and subjects more engaging and accessible. Children can practice math through games, improve reading comprehension with e-books, and develop writing skills using AI Processors.

Moreover, IT Literacy develops important skills. For instance, learning to code encourages logical thinking, creativity and memorization. These are some examples of skills that are transferable and beneficial across all areas of learning. When students learn to code, they learn to break down problems into manageable parts, a skill that is applicable in solving math problems or conducting experiments.

Furthermore, integrating IT Literacy in primary education creates collaboration and communication skills. IT projects require students to work in teams, sharing ideas and solutions. This collaborative environment helps mirror real-world situations, where teamwork and communication are fundamentals in the workplace. Additionally, IT literacy helps students navigate and evaluate the large and vast amounts of information available online, creating responsible and mannered internet use.