The teaching of Information Technology is a standard part of the school curriculum in most secondary schools. The same is now happening in primary schools, where children as young as six are learning how to use computers. However, there is a danger that IT skills are being taught at the expense of more basic skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In secondary school, studying IT is appropriate, however these days primary schools have also started the same for younger ages. How does this impact the growth of a child? While on one hand it may be beneficial to learn these as it will be a big part of the future, it may also bring some dangers along the process. I personally agree to the latter claim to a huge extent and believe that it is a secondary skill, one not as vital for the development of youngsters

Some people may bring up the argument that as technological advancement and computers are taking over, it is crucial to learn how to operate and make use of it correctly. Acquiring this knowledge will bring huge advantages in terms of effectiveness and time saving. Another claim is that incorporating digitalization into the education system will be more engaging, especially for youngsters with a short attention span. It will also make learning more enjoyable, thus increasing their willingness to learn.

However, I believe that there are more fundamental skills to be learned to live and survive such as manners, and it is unlikely that this can be taught by using technology. If the said method of education is continued, it will also increase the dependency on gadgets, decreasing problem solving skills as they are used to the computer doing it for them. Moreover, this will also slow down the brain’s function to develop and think critically and outside the box, which ironically, is an important skill when using the web so that they do not fall into the dark traps online such as scams, hoax news, and AI generated images.

To conclude, even if it will be more effective, I still strongly stand by my opinion that it is unneeded. There is a time for everything and in elementary it is to learn about social interactions and simpler lessons. Students in that level also have not had the adequate brain capacity to decide and differentiate what is right and true which is a vital skill when using the web. So in the long run, the negative effects will outweigh the positives.