The tendency of news reporters in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it cannot be denied that the press has a great influence on society, so there is an opinion that the tendency to publish articles about problems instead of positive changes will have an unfavorable impact on humanity. However, I regard that this trend still has benefits for society

On the one hand, there are a plethora of reasons why many people believe that urgent news is harmful to society. First, due to the fact imperative news is often written briefly, sometimes even using sensational and exaggerated words: these articles usually cause confusion and fear for readers. And when they lose their temper like that, they will easily commit anti-social actions such as breaking the law. A typical example is during the COVID-19 pandemic when there was a lot of pessimistic news about the disease spreading widely on social networks, many people rushed to stock up on food and medicine. The result of this behavior is that society is destabilized, and even increases the likelihood of each person getting infected. Another negative point of this trend is that it affects each person’s mood. The media focusing a lot on bad news will make people feel that life is full of gloomy things and they will become more pessimistic.

However, I believe that focusing on imperious issues and reports will benefit not only individuals but also the public. First of all, this bulletin will raise people’s awareness about social life because information about problems frequently warns people of danger, helping them have more correct awareness. For example, the news that children under pressure from their families will easily suffer from psychological diseases such as depression has helped parents to be properly aware of how to educate their children, thereby reducing the risk of mental illness. Another reason why I believe in news about issues is that when there is too much good news, it can make people susceptible to delusions about life. They will think that everything can be achieved easily, from which they will be caught off guard by the surrounding traps.

In conclusion, although it is impossible to deny the harmful effects of focusing on exigent news on problems caused to people and society, I still believe that this trend brings significant benefits such as enhancing people’s awareness. However, the media should keep a balance between these types of news and readers should also have the right way to receive such news.