The use of mobile phones in public areas is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places, so mobile phones should be banned in the same way. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Mobile phones are very convenient in our daily life. However, it is important to use it at the right place. Some individuals believe that they should be prohibited in public places. While this idea sounds great on paper, I do not endorse this thought.

One main reason why I disagree with this is simply because mobile phones are just very convenient. They are like your personal assistant, ready to do anything for you. For instance, if you want to know the direction to anywhere, you can do that with a simple tap on the screen, by just simply opening “Google Maps”, you can have the direction to everywhere. This is also very useful in a bus or a taxi because now you cannot get fooled by the driver. Or, let’s say you have to buy something and there are a handful of shop that sell it, you can go online on your phone and find the best deal. These are some of reason why mobile phones are so important in public, and by restricting the use of them, you are essentially stripping away convenience in your life.

In addition, people are so dependant on mobile phones that they are doing everything on their phone, just glueing their eyes to the screen every single day. Things like carrying bulky wallet, having to bring ID card, bulky documents, etc are now a thing to a past. We are now habitated to doing anything except our phones.

That said, public places like the library should restricted it by a certain degree. The noises that phones made is a recipe for disasters in a place like the library. It should be a complete silence place with peace of minds knowing there will be no continuing beeping from mobile phones.

In conclusion, we are so glued to our phones due to the many convenient things that it brings to our life. However, we should curtail the use of a mobile phone in public places like the library.