The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media platforms like Facebook and Twitter are gradually taking the place of physical communication in people’s day-to-day life. I believe the benefits of this development are far more than the drawbacks as we now have the privilege of saving time and resources yet achieving a wider coverage.

On the one hand, it is true that Facebook has Twitter have contributed negatively to society ranging from the time people, especially the youths, spend online daily to the crimes that have been associated with social media. It is no longer news that students really visit the library to study because they prefer to surf the net for information. However, they are usually distracted by trending news and chats from Friends and family lowering their educational grades. Furthermore, the increased crime rate can not be separated from social sites. Criminals take advantage of unsuspected youths on these sites to execute their evil plans. For example, my neighbour was killed in a far away city by an unknown guy she met online. According to their chats, the man invited her for a date but ended up killing her and made away with some of her body parts.

On the other hand, this technological advancement has been of great help to this generation. Within a short period of time, family and friends relate from the comfort of their homes, reducing the amount of time and resources needed to travel across. Business associates now advertise their goods and services and carry out transactions swiftly. Another win is that different groups are created by people of common interest on these media platforms, where they hold meetings, conduct elections, plan for events, and disseminate invaluable information without meeting in person. This is a plus for this generation and for people like me who struggle to maintain a work-life balance.

In conclusion, the media platforms are not without setbacks. However, I would argue that the benefits are inmeasurable, helping people to achieve more within a short time frame, relate to many people even though face to face meetings are not feasible, and perform business transactions with ease.