The use of technology makes people less social. Do you agree or disagree

Advancement in technology and its increasing popularity has majorly affected the individuals of our generation. Therefore, some people argue that growing use of digital technology has encouraged people to be socially less active. I strongly agree on this, because the increasing use of digital devices has indeed reduced face-to-face interactions and has increased social isolation.

One major reason is that technology discourages direct social interactions. People tend to spend long hours on their digital devices such as smartphones , which reduces social engagements. Consequently, such overuse isolates them from real and meaningful conversations with other individuals. For instance, in recent years, ‘work from home’ concept has significantly reduced the real office environment and reduced opportunities for deepening friendships among colleagues.

Another detrimental effect of overuse of digital devices is that it promotes digital dependency and increases social isolation. Technology has not only made people life easier by reducing works that requires physical strength and more individuals, but also made people addicted and heavily reliable on it.As a result, people can do their work independently, which reduces social communication and in turn promotes social withdrawal. One real example that explains this situation is the daily use of mobile apps like YouTube . People can learn different skills, while staying at home.

In conclusion, it is clear that technological advancement and its increasing use has promoted social isolations by reducing social engagement and encouraged people to be more dependent on it. In order to create a balanced and healthy environment for humans, the limitation of use of technology should be initiated for where possible.