The values that we learn from our parents and family have a greater influence on our future success than any knowledge and skills we learn at school. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is thought that the key to achievement is more of family-based values than knowledge and skills from schools. I find this argument totally ungrounded because both play vital roles in one’s success.

Family-based values could contribute to individuals’ winning. Firstly, morals, ethics, and personal values could be instilled to people through parents and families. By following house rules as well as observing and imitating parents taking care of their children, individuals could shape proper future behavior towards others. As a result, this could help them make good impressions on recruiters, and potentially contribute to career advancement. Secondly, individuals could acquire relevant skills which prepare them for independent life. They could learn self-care skills including cooking, cleaning, laundry and the like through helping parents with household chores. Thanks to this, people might be more resilient, self-disciplined and be able to overcome challenges confidently.

However, knowledge and skills learned from school are also indispensable factors for success. To begin with, schools could provide people with standardized knowledge in various fields. Through learning, practicing activities and exams supported by cutting edge educational facilities together with high-leveled teachers, schools could offer individuals with more insights and perspectives in every aspect, thereby, empowering them to solve problems creatively and make informed decisions associated with achievement. Additionally, people could learn and sharpen some sorts of interpersonal skills at school. By involving in extracurricular lessons, group projects and clubs, individuals might acquire and improve teamwork, communication or problem solving skills. Therefore, this together with knowledge could enable one to navigate complex social situations on the road to winning.

In conclusion, I contend that values from family and school equally impact on individuals’ success.