The values that we learn from our parents and family have a greater influence on our future success than any knowledge and skills we learn at school. How far do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the contemporary milieu, education is always considered as the top concern of the public. It is, ergo, put to debate that parents and relatives are better teachers than schools. While this perspective is valid to a certain context, this essay sheds light on why I partially disagree with it.

On the one hand, families are the roots of individuals’ personal quality. With the lessons in real-life situations from home, children can ameliorate their traits whereas curricula in schools only concentrate on students’ orientation towards theoretical knowledge including maths principles or chemical phenomena which seem to be useless for comprehensive improvement of moral quality. For example, parents might spend time talking and confiding to their offsprings that teach them how to take care of others. However, teenagers in puberty want to live independently and oppose adults’ advice, plus parents’ busy work and little time they have for looking after their child, and hence, warping behaviors and spirit of children.

On the other hand, lectures in school facilitate underlying groundwork for students’ future careers. To commence with, the bulk of occupations require qualifications or specific knowledge which can be only acquired in higher education or vocational schools with lessons and exams. For instance, a skilled doctor is not only a dedicated and lenient person but also who has deep understanding of human body and health. Furthermore, vital social skills such as critical thinking pr problem solving can be enhanced through projects and debates in the classes because students are given the chances to work and collaborate with others.

In conclusion, although parents and family enable children to form and develop their traits, schools also play an important role in supplying knowledge and improving soft skills essential for future success.