The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Agree or disagree?The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Agree or disagree?

There is a common believe that longer weekend helps people to get rid from the monotonous life. Though this opinion varies people to people and I strongly disagree with this point of view. This essay will explain both side of arguments along with my opinion.

This is a true fact that short breaks in work can help to increase the productivity of an employee and I partly agree with this notion. Moreover, it also helps to start the work energetically and with fresh mind. We are becoming dependable on our work life. Therefore, we are forgetting to spend our valuable time with friends and family people. However, to bring some adjustment in the job life Netherland have implemented policies to shortening the work hour. For an example – In japan companies allow their employee to take a short break in between work which resulted the better output and massive changes in the economy.

Naturally, long break in work can make people bored and it reduce the work efficiency. I strongly agree with this viewpoint. It is true that break is important but a long break can demotivate someone to stay connected with the work. This practice affects not only the productivity but also physical health of worker. Such as – textile manufacturer of Bangladesh turned off the factory due to shortage of electricity. Meanwhile, they couldn’t reopen the factory later again because of the shortage of labor. BGMEA report said that many of them are demotivated to rejoin and few of them are suffering with the health issue.

Though most of the business owner thinks, long time work helps to bring better output but in reality it appears to be different. So, balancing the work life we should take short break instead of long weekend.