The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Your essay should comprise a minimum of 250 words.

Having a job with amenities and a good working environment is a dream for everyone. To be a working woman/man is just a priority for someone whereas it is chasing the plans for another. But if, weekdays are shortened and longer weekends are offered, how the society will progress?

In my opinion, a working week shouldn’t be shortened as many companies have daily targets that need to be fulfilled before time. If hours are reduced, then probably the deadlines will not be met and this will develop stress and tension in the minds of people due to workload and overtime. This will also affect the foreign companies investment in a company. Secondly, lot of people like to be busy rather than enjoying longer weekends. This is because a particular task gives them motivation and a schedule that helps to extract best out of themself and develop skills rather than being amused by vacations. But, at the same time, longer vacations can develop laziness and tiredness in people which can affect the performance of an individual. This might lead to daydreaming of persons who are eager for the arrival of weekends.

In contrast, I also think that the freshers or employees who have recently joined a company, giving longer weekends will help them to analyze and work on the areas that they are lacking along with learning software and programs for best performance. The multi-national companies that have widespread businesses, offering longer holidays to workers can provide freshness and encouragement to connect the dots more enthusiastically and happily.

In conclusion, I partially agree and disagree with the statement provided. I think, longer weekends and reduced weekday hours have their advantages as well as disadvantages which can lead to betterment as well as developing habits that are uninvited.