The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In such competitive job market, there have been growing debates over whether working days should be shortened to allow for longer weekends. While some might see that as a negative amendment, I completely agree that it would have numerous merits such as healthier workforce and an increase in productivity.

One of the primary reasons advocating short weekdays than the standard ones is the concern regarding the mental health of employees. The standard working schedule includes only two days off, which are not enough for workers to either rest or have a vacation with their families and friends. Thus, if this change is taken into action, they will have more leisure time to even exercise and have some quality time in order to relieve stress resulted from over workload. This work life balance, on long term, will make them more energized, focused and motivated.

Another privilege supporting my perspective about short work week is that it could enhance the productivity and efficiency. To illustrate, having clear mind incredibly boosts the performance of the workforce. For instance,in Sweden and Iceland where the employees work only for four days, they experience neither any decline in productivity nor loss of outputs. This is mainly because the fundamental reason behind the decrease of workforce’s productivity is the fatigue. The less hours the employees work, the more free time they will have to rest, the more concentrated they will be, the higher performance will be done.

To conclude, owing to having more focused employees aligned with higher productivity, I agree that shortening the standard working week and lengthening the weekend should be encouraged and emplemented.