The world has many towns and cities constructed in previous centuries that were more suitable and livable for people in those times than they are now. What problems will this cause? What can be done to solve these problems?

In this contemporary era, many infrastructures that were built a few centuries ago cannot provide better accommodation facilities to live in than those days. A list of vast drawbacks is associated with this obsolete infrastructure, namely lack of modern facilities, lack of an advanced sewerage and waste management system, and so on. While this problem can be addressed by investing a colossal budget, improving modern facilities throughout the towns and cities.

On the one hand, there are several issues related to outdated infrastructure with limited modern facilities. First and foremost, narrower roads and streets, insufficient public transport systems, and lack of updated parking facilities may lead to traffic congestion, which is one of the major reasons for abandoning these old areas. In addition, sewerage systems and waste management systems are not compatible with the modern system, which results in affecting the delivery of basic facilities to people. For example, many old cities, namely Dhaka, Old Delhi, and so on, are struggling to provide these basic needs to their dwellers.

On the other hand, there are vast solutions to the aforementioned problems, including investing a massive budget and introducing modern facilities to these unprivileged areas. Firstly, the government, in collaboration with other stakeholders, namely city planners, should provide a colossal budget in order to develop old-fashioned infrastructure, which may attract people to these areas to reside in. For instance, large and spacious roads and highways can be built, and an efficient public transport system can be introduced to address the problem of traffic jams. Modern facilities need to be provided regarding sewerage and waste management systems.

To conclude, it is a gigantic endeavor to transform our obsolete towns and cities for accommodation. Although it consists of many drawbacks regarding infrastructure and modern facilities, these problems can be solved by large and planned investments.