There are many animal species close to extinction. Some say that only animals that are beneficial to people should be protected. Do you agree or disagree?

Almost all animals in the world act as key levers in people’s lives. As a result, many people believe that exclusively those animals humanity can benefit from should be preserved more than the others. Although in some specific contexts, it can be a slightly more urgent need to save the endangered species necessary for people, I generally feel that all animals no matter what type should be shielded equally.

Admittedly, there can be several benefits to conserving the lives of the most endangered and, at the same time beneficial animals. One of such advantages is that those animals can help humans become much more capable of sustaining their lives as most of them are considered consumable and not only have they long been an essential part of a person’s diet, but also they can meet the clothing demands of individuals. For example, most Amazon river alligators are now in the brink of vanishing; but, their skins are such valuable resources for producing a high-quality piece of clothing. Thus, it is sometimes better to pay most of our attention to important species only.

However, in general, I believe that all animal species should be kept for the upcoming generation since absolutely all species have kept flora and fauna alive for centuries. Doing any harm to one part of this system would mean depriving the Earth of the chance to develop further as a single eco-system. A sheep is a commonly overlooked type of animal which provides mutton, a very popular meat type, and it is welcomed by many people unless they are vegetarians. In addition, a good number of people around the globe have jobs inextricably linked to working with animals, so robbing them of this chance could lead them to lose their occupations. Therefore, downplaying the importance of many other species is wrong.

In conclusion, though, at times people may have to save only what is necessary, I generally agree that the center of spotlight should be equally shared with all animals in terms of their preservation.