There are many animal species close to extinction. Some say that only animals that are beneficial to people should be protected. Do you agree or disagree?

A significant number of animal species are close to extinct and some people argue that animals that are important to people solely should be preserved. This essay disagrees with the statement, suggesting that keeping variety of biodiversity on earth is important due to the ethical and ecological issues.

From the ethical standpoint, any species of animals should exist regardless of their usefulness to humans. Protecting kinds of animals from extinction is a responsibility of people, as they are the most superior kind of entities in the world. Preserving wildlife species based on their importance only for human raises questions about moral argument that all life forms have a right to exist. Therefore, ethical considerations compel us to value and protect wildlife for its own sake, regardless of its direct benefits to people.

From the ecological point of view, keeping variety of animal species on earth is very important to keep ecosystems unchanged. Biodiversity takes an essential place in the nature, as it keeps food chain consistent. However, if population of lower life forms suddenly decreases, it will affect population of higher ones, causing them to face extinction as well. For example, decline in number of amphibian species began in the early 1980s, still contributing to decline in the predator species such as birds and mammals.

In coclusion, solely protecting animals that are beneficial to people is the bad tendency, as people will be against their own moral codex and might cause more animals to face issues of extinction.