There are many animal species close to extinction. Some say that only animals that are beneficial to people should be protected. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some that only beneficial species of animals facing extinction deserve protection. I disagree with this, and I firmly believe that the humans have the obligation of protect and try to save all the species regardless of if they are considered useful or not, because most of them are in risk of extinction due to the human action. Also, all the animals play a role in the nature and without one of them the current balance would be negatively affected.

First, most of the animals are in risk of extinction due to the human activity, so there is an obligation to protect them. The necessity of most spaces to live or for the agriculture has disappeared many habitats leaving many animals without food and places to live and therefore facing the extinction. The humans need to do all that can be done to save all the species in risk, because they are in this situation for the human actions.

In addition, all the animals have a role in nature and are an important piece of a chain. If a specie does not exist anymore, then all the cycle is affected. That is why is it important to keep all the species so they can keep doing their job in the nature. For example, some animals serve as the food of other species. If a specie disappeared, then other animals that are predators of them, also could be facing extinction because they will not be able to find food.

In conclusion, despite the view of many people, I considered that all the species of animals close to extinction deserve to be protected because it is and obligation to the human and to maintain the balance in nature.