There have been many inventions in human history ( for example, the wheel) some people think the most important invention is the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In human history, many inventions were completely introduced and created, including the wheel and other applications. Some individuals contend that the internet was the most important innovation in modern life. From an objective perspective, I agree with this opinion based on several reasons that are explained in this essay.

Admittedly, some inventions in the past such as the wheel and other useful applications may play a crucial role in real life, which support people in improving transportation and other purposes. Besides, these applications may support people in unexpected emergencies. Nevertheless, a strong counter-argument is that these applications, which are invented for a short period of time, may not be considered as the most essential thing. This is because these inventions merely support many purposes that are based on their functions, which cannot guarantee their long-term versatility and sustainability as well as constitute contemporarily useful things.

There are several reasons why the internet plays an indispensable role in the digital age, chief of which is its usefulness as a connective network on the global scale. Thanks to their versatile function of the internet, people around the world can keep in contact with each other regardless of geographical barriers. Furthermore, they also help people to get access to new information and broadcast news effectively. As can be seen in the way that children nowadays undeniably stay up-to-date with a myriad of topics and lessons around the world because of the ubiquity of the internet. As a result, I believe that these useful functions of the internet may turn them into the most crucial thing in the long run.

In conclusion, for the aforementioned reasons, I hold the view that the internet has become the most essential thing in terms of invention.