There is a growing demand for fresh water nowadays and this is becoming a global problem. What are the causes and solutions?

One of the major issue the world is currently dealing with is the increasing need for fresh water. This problem is caused due to significant decrease in the water table and global warming, whereas it can be resolved by the collective action of the government and the public.

First and foremost, one of the major factors that causes the shortage of fresh water is the lowering of water table, which has resulted in dying of fresh water resources. For example, the underground water levels in Mumbai have notably dropped since the emergence of industries that depend heavily on underground water, which had caused the nearby fresh water bodies to dry up. Another key factor is the worth-noting increase in the temperatures of the planet Earth. Since the last two decades temperatures of the surface of the earth have been increased by about 2 degrees, which has resulted in rapid evaporation of surface water, consequently, water resources had dried at an alarming rate.

The solution to this threat is twofold. One potential solution is the action by the government. The government must take steps towards the waste water management plants, which will treat the waste and polluted water and make it palatable. Another achievable solution is the action by the common people. Ordinary people must save water as much as possible. This will not only reduce the overuse of the water but also result in water conservation.

In conclusion, the significant increase in demand for fresh water is the challenge, our planet is facing these days. This is the result of drastic lowering of water table and warming of the planet. However, the solution to this problem is the collaborative effort of the government at the state levels and the ordinary public at individual levels.