There is a growing demand for fresh water nowadays and this is becoming a global problem. What are the causes and solutions?

Nowadays, there is an increased demand for clean water, making it a global concern. This essay argues that polluting water resources and a lack of conservation are the major causes and then describes that the possible solutions are implementing proper regulations and purification procedures.

To begin with, water bodies such as oceans, rivers and lakes and being contaminated in a large scale. This is widely due to the dumping of both industrial and municipal waste. Effluents from industries are released in these water resources making them unsuitable for drinking and other purposes such as cooking. Moreover, it affects the people utilizing them. Additionally, most of the existing local reservoirs are left without maintenance. As dust and unwanted particles start to accumulate, the possibilities of their freshness reduce drastically. For instance, most of the factories in India release their unwanted chemicals and leftovers in the nearby water bodies polluting them.

This can be avoided and controlled with the implementation of strict rules and regulations that enhance the quality of water. Being put to action, this encourages the organizations to search and introduce alternatives such that the pollutants are being disposed in a sustainable manner. Furthermore, regular inspections will instill affirmative results in terms of sustainability. Additionally, the contaminated water can be purified and reused by subjecting it to proper water treatment. With advancements in science and technology this is possible. Moreover, these facilities could be established locally, meeting the demand of the respective locations. For example, the government of India allocated funds to construct enhanced water treatment plans to control the inadequate water supply and pollution.

In conclusion, fresh water demand has increased drastically because of the contamination and poor maintenance of the existing water resources and this situation could be avoided by implementing strict laws of sustainability and effective water purifying techniques.