There is a growing trend of companies allowing employees to choose their own working hours and locations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Selecting one’s own working hours by applicants is now allowed in multiple contemporary workplaces instead of working within a fixed 9-to-5 schedule. Numerous benefits are witnessed, such as fulfilling family commitments and work satisfaction, which overshadow the drawbacks of it.

On the one hand, one of the most prominent advantages of this phenomenon is that a flexible schedule helps workers to maintain their family responsibilities. To elaborate, flexibility in working hours not only gives employees a chance to spend quality time with their family members but also assists them in other tasks, such as picking up children from school, attending medical appointments, going to celebrations, and others. To exemplify, multiple individuals work on night shifts. Even after doing night shifts, they can rest in the morning and catch up on sleep, then spend time with their loved ones by dining outside at a restaurant, shopping malls, cinema, and so on, which provides them with good job satisfaction.

On the other hand, there are drawbacks of selecting one’s own working hours instead of adhering to a 9-to-5. The first and foremost one is that it reduces the interaction and meetings between staff members. To clarify, mostly, in many companies, people like to work in the morning only with a fixed schedule. If some people start working according to their own flexibilities, then they will not be able to communicate with their working team, which can have a detrimental impact on the group’s goals and decisions. For instance, if a manager wants to give a group project to his team and all team members have different working hours, then they will be unable to finish the group project.

To summarize, considering everything, having multiple of the above-mentioned advantages, such as spending quality time with their family and work satisfaction, far outweigh the demerits of this trend.