There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no denying that students today are under pressure to achieve academic success. Consequently, some people claim that non-academic subjects like physical education and cooking ought to be taken out of the school curriculum in order to allow students to focus on academic tasks. In spite of the more time that teenagers may spend preparing for academic work, to my mind, unscholarly classes provide students with stress reduction and new skills.

To begin with, by removing non-academic subjects, students may have extra time to prepare for their classes, projects or tests. This may be explained by the fact, that children after six or seven lessons per day are exhausted as well as after participation in any school events or competitions. As a result, they do not have enough strength to carry out their homework in an appropriate form, this, in turn, may lead to failure in their academic lives.

However, it seems to me that unscholarly lessons may help students to reduce stress, improve mental health and develop their outlook. Nevertheless, not only do subjects, such as physical training and cooking provide students with benefits, but there are also art and music subjects. As an example, stress is decreased while doing physical activities, and similarly, mental rest appears while drawing pictures. In addition, by receiving new skills, such as cooking or new music genres, students may develop their talents in any fields and have a rest not only physically, but also chill with their soul.

Taking all the above into consideration, it can be concluded that although student may pay more attention to their tasks by taking out non-academic subjects, stress reduction and new abilities may appear by attending unscholarly classes.