There is an increasing trend around the world towards having a small family rather than a large family. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

More and more people prefer to have a small family rather than a large family. In this essay, I will explain why the benefits of having a smaller family overshadow the drawbacks.

On the one hand, a smaller family could pose two challenges to people. Firstly, the children tend to be lonelier since they have fewer siblings to interact with. This could lead to having limited social interaction with people and the children could potentially be more isolated. In fact, this lack of interaction could lead to poor communication skills. Secondly, it makes the children more selfish as they are more often spoiled by their parents. If they are an only child, they are more likely not used to sharing, especially when it comes to their possession. This could lead to them being more self-centered.

On the other hand, getting involved in smaller family could offer two benefits to people. Firstly, a small family needs a smaller amount of money. Because of this, the parents may find it easier to provide items such as clothes, food, and other basic necessities. In other words, with less financial burden, the parents could increase their family’s welfare. Secondly, with fewer children to care for, the parents will have more time and energy to focus on each child’s needs as they get more involved in their children’s development. Therefore, this quality time allows the parents to fully understand their child’s interests, thus having a more supportive relationship. In fact, this could lead to them having a stronger bond.

In conclusion, while having a smaller family could lead to children becoming more isolated socially as they have limited interaction, the parents will have less financial burden and more time to give attention to each children’s needs. Therefore, I remain firmly convinced that the benefits overshadow the drawbacks.