There is more and more outrage and anger common in society today. Why is this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Agression and rage is more common in today’s society. I believe this is due to people having more stress in their lives, and it is absolutely a negative development, because our tolerance towards other people is lower than before.

Stress has always been an essential indicator for a human being. Throughout history, our ancestors used to feel stressed in dangerous situations, allowing their bodies to release adrenaline, in order to outburst high levels of energy as an answer to the trigger. Nowadays, that skill became rudimentary, since our lives became much safer, but for some reason, we are the most stressed generation in all of human history. People started to stress about different things than before; today, it is mostly debt, troubles at work, or misunderstanding with the partner, all considered as stress-triggers. A good way of proving that is comparing average testosterone levels of men in 20th and in 21st century. The numbers are extremely far from each other, with our ancestors having 5 times as much testosterone in their blood. Funny thing is that hormone heavily depends on one’s stress levels and lifestyle. Surely, if it dropped so low, we, as a generation, must have exceptionally stressful lifestyles, which directly connects to us being overly agressive and angry.

The agression and anger, in addition to the aforementioned ideas, can be destructive in their nature. It is undoubtedly a negative development, since an individual must always be calm and rational. Unfortunately, it can not be said for modern people, because we are rapidly annoyed by frustrations around us. Seneca, an ancient Greek writer, has been praising the notions of Stoicism, a movement stating that a person must accept things as they are, and never feel frustrated about situations that are out of his control. In other words, stoics of that time have been telling us to not bother with everything around us and to control our emotions. These ideas have been gaining popularity over time, and hopefully, they can affect such a negative progress as people bursting their agressive emotions.

In conclusion, the main reason behind people being more ragefull and easily annoyed today is the lifestyle they lead, which is full of unwanted stress. It must be viewed as a negative change, since we can bring our tolerance levels back up to stay calm at all times.